Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Academic bar rises, Sixty-Nine Barton Student-Athletes earn All-Academic Awards #GoBarton

2017-18 Barton NJCAA All-Academic Individual Honors

Sixty-nine Barton Community College student-athletes have been awarded All-Academic honors amongst the NJCAA's 6,285 student-athletes recognized for their 3.60 grade point average or better in the classroom as the 2017-18 Cougars surpassed the Athletic Department's fifty-five individuals honored last season.

Twenty Cougars joined 1,407 nation-wide recipients in receiving 1st Team honors as the baseball and women's basketball teams claimed department bragging honors landing four each on the top squad of 4.0 GPA earners. Women's golf and volleyball were one behind on the list with three team members each earning top honors.

Volleyball had the most 2nd Team selections with five earning a 3.80-3.99 GPA with the men's track and field team close behind with four. Thirty Cougars total landed on the on the second team with another nineteen landing on the 3rd Team within a 3.60-3.79 GPA range.

With one college in Region VI not reporting data, the region accumulated 796 of the national honors with Barton leading the way by ten over second standing Allen County Community College's fifty-nine. The Cougars also led the region with twenty 1st team and thirty 2nd team honors with Cowley College having the most third team recipients with twenty-five of their fifty-six total.

List of Barton's NJCAA All-Academic Student-Athletes

First Team (4.0 GPA):
Nicholas Bradley (Wrestling)
Madison Dirks (Women's Basketball)
Jacob Ensz (Baseball)
Carol Goncalves (Volleyball)
Kaila Harris (Volleyball)
Kailey Harris (Volleyball)
Josh Hendrickson (Baseball)
Thitipong Homruen (Men's Golf)
Micaela Jellison (Women's Basketball)
Michael Kelly (Men's Golf)
Sydney Kirmse (Women's Golf)
Mallory Miller (Women's Basketball)
Nolan Riley (Baseball)
Madgiel Rodriguez (Women's Swimming)
Lucia Rodriguez Zapico (Women's Golf)
Alexis Sharples (Softball)
Delaney Smith (Women's Golf)
Easton Smith (Baseball)
Luisa Souza (Women's Soccer)
Jaylin Stapleton (Women's Basketball)

Second Team (3.80-3.99):
Monique Aguiar (Volleyball)
Kelsie Antcliff (Volleyball)
Felipe Baeza (Men's Soccer)
Braden Carpenter (Baseball)
Juan Casterjon (Men's Soccer)
Vilma Efraimsson (Women's Golf)
Larissa Fagundes (Women's Soccer)
Jeri Garcia (Volleyball)
Gracen Haar-Becker (Women's Golf)
Nathan Hood (Men's Cross Country, Men's Indoor Track & Field, Men's Outdoor Track & Field)
Tanner Howe (Baseball)
Caylee Irving (Volleyball)
Shanai Jackson-Brown (Women's Soccer)
Juan Diego Jaimes (Men's Tennis)
Alexis James (Women's Indoor Track & Field, Women's Outdoor Track & Field)
Kendra Jellison (Women's Golf)
Chandler Kelley (Baseball)
Miranda Kern (Women's Golf)
Alejandro Marin Sequeira (Men's Soccer)
Enrique Martinez (Men's Indoor Track & Field, Men's Outdoor Track & Field)
Alvin McCray (Men's Indoor Track & Field, Men's Outdoor Track & Field)
Allison Panning (Softball)
Taylor Regan (Women's Basketball)
Andreana Reynolds (Softball)
Christian Rivas (Wrestling)
Reagan Smyth (Women's Swimming)
Graham Sokol (Men's Indoor Track & Field, Men's Outdoor Track & Field)
Ariana Taylor (Volleyball)
Ryen White (Women's Basketball)
Sydney Williams (Women's Swimming)

Third Team (3.60-3.79):
Amy Akler (Women's Golf)
Riley Amsink (Men's Golf)
Tyrell Andrews (Men's Basketball)
Bruna Baptista (Women's Soccer)
Tressa Becker (Women's Soccer)
Amanda Carty (Women's Indoor Track & Field, Women's Outdoor Track & Field)
Juliana Chagas (Women's Basketball)
Irene Chukwudi (Women's Basketball)
Kristofer Eggertsson (Men's Soccer)
Dawson Gantenbein (Men's Swimming)
Sarah Hammer (Women's Tennis)
Thales Machado de Souza (Men's Tennis)
Jared Maneth (Baseball)
Marcel Miasato (Men's Tennis)
Kermani Mighty (Men's Indoor Track & Field, Men's Outdoor Track & Field)
Andrew Repp (Baseball)
Jarrett Seaton (Baseball)
Neus Torregrosa (Women's Tennis)
Jada Whiterock (Women's Cross Country)

Complete list of the 2017-18 NJCAA All-Academic Student-Athlete Awards